Aquarium Leadership


Texas State Aquarium Facility Leaders

President & CEO Tom Schmid
Senior VP & Chief Operating Officer Jesse Gilbert
VP of Finance & CFO Julio Flores
VP of Development Dr. Paul “Rocky” Kettering, CFRE
VP of Education & Conservation Leslie Peart
Chief Marketing Officer Richard E. Glover, Jr.
Director of Human Resources Nicole Andrade
Director of Restaurant Services Leon Burns
Director of Operations Justin Sefcik
Director of Sales Jennifer Vela


The Texas State Aquarium is honored to have the following members of our community serve on our Board of Trustees: 


2015 Officers
Chair Larry Urban
Past Chair/Parliamentarian Deneece Squires
Vice Chair Rob Hall
Vice Chair Bruce S. Hawn
Vice Chair Judy Hawley
Secretary Don Kingsbury
Treasurer Julie Buckley

 (Term expires December 31 of Year Listed)


Corpus Christi Area 

  2015   2016   2017
1. Joe Adame 1. Libby Averyt 1. Tree Baker, III
2. Allen Borden 2. Julie Buckley 2. George Finley
3. Mary Campbell 3. Elinor Donnell 3. Dos Gates
4. Louise Chapman 4. Eddie Garcia 4. Rob Hall
5. Dr. Robert “Bob” Furgason 5. Kim Hammer 5. Gloria Hicks
6. Bruce S. Hawn 6. Judy Hawley 6. Dr. Flavius Killebrew
7. R. Scott Heitkamp 7. Susan E. Hutchinson 7. Robert (Bill) Maxwell, Jr.
8. Charles A. “Charlie” Hicks 8. Don Kingsbury 8. Maureen Miller
9. Dr. Larry McKinney 9. Edward A. Martin 9. Rakesh “Rick” Patel
10. Julie McNeil 10. Dan Richter 10. Mike Pusley
11. Patty Nuss 11. Keleigh Sasser 11. Darcy Schroeder
12. J. Ted Oakley 12. Frank H. Scanio, III 12. Deneece Ann Squires
13. Larry Urban 13. Wade Smith 13. Denise Tavares
    14. Celika Storm 14. Sylvia A. Whitmore
        15. Charlie Zahn



1. Esperanza “Hope” Andrade (San Antonio)
2. Laura Fischer (Beeville)
3. Robert A. “Bob” May (Beeville)
4. Mike Shaw (Denver, CO)


1. Barry Andrews (Dallas)
2. Thomas E. Dobson (San Antonio)
3. Pat Frost (San Antonio)
4. Peter Holt (San Antonio)


1. John F. Dorn (Houston)
2. Larry Meyers (Washington, DC)



Past Presidents 

1978-81   Arthur W. Zeitler/Lillian A. Murray 1996-97   Gene Urban
1981-82   Lillian A. Murray 1997-98   R. B. “Randy” Cutlip
1982-83   Arthur W. Zeitler 1998-99   Sylvia A. Whitmore
1983-84   Paula Butt 1999-01   Thomas R. “Tom” Dobson
1984-85   Elinor Donnel 2001-02   R. Scott Heitkamp
1985-89   John F. Dorn 2002-03   Thomas R. “Tom” Dobson
1989-90   Thomas V. Shockley, III 2003-04   Mark Meyer
1990-91   Luther Jones 2004-05   Eddie L. Garcia
1991-92   Stephen W. Sullivan 2005-07   Bruce Hawn
1992-93   Gary Miglicco 2008-09   Rich D. Tuttle
1993-94   Charles Wade 2009-11   Judy Hawley
1994-95   Gloria Hicks 2011-12   Lee Jordan
1995-96   Paul Pearson, III 2013-14  Deneece Squires



Trustee Emeritus
R.C. Allen
Charles C. Butt
Margaret “Peggy” Lasater Clark
Rich D. Tuttle
Arthur W. Zeitler



Advisory Trustees
Nelda Martinez
Sam L. Susser