Press Room


News Releases

February 13, 2013

Texas State Aquarium Elects Officers and Welcomes New Members to the Board

CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS – The Texas State Aquarium is pleased to announce its officers and new members of the Board of Trustees for 2013. As a private, self supporting, not-for-profit organization, the Aquarium receives no city, state or federal funding, and receives no government oversight. Instead, the Aquarium recruits talented community leaders as Trustees who provide oversight, governance, and assist with strategic planning. Board members serve three-year terms. New officers include Deneece Squires - Chair of the Board, Lee Jordan - Past Chair/Parliamentarian, Bruce S. Hawn -Vice Chair, Julie Buckley - Treasurer, and Denise Tavares - Secretary. New trustees include Louise Chapman, Steve DeSutter, Walt Schumacher, and Laura Fischer.



 Texas State Aquarium--Connecting people with nature and inspiring conservation of the Gulf of Mexico.

The Aquarium is an accredited member of the Association of Zoos and Aquariums

and the Alliance of Marine Mammal Parks and Aquariums.